Shoutout Sunday – My Mom

My mom. The lady that gave me life and raised me in a country that was foreign to her.

Here’s somethings I think you should know about her:

  • She is a full-fledged filipina from the big island of the Philippines. She grew up in a very large family, on a farm, in a small village, as the oldest child. I don’t know too many details about her life besides the ones that she lets me know.
  • She raised her children to work hard for what we had everyday and to be grateful for the simple things in life. Always reminded us about how she grew up they didn’t have certain things. She really knew how to bring us back down to earth when we tend to lose ourselves.
  • There’s one thing my mom always loved was education. She didn’t get to finish high-school because when her Father fell ill she had to quit school to help take care of the family. She began working as a pre-teen taking the role of her Father. She used to tell me that her most common job was working in the city for the rich families as their maid.  As a result, my mother really pushed her children to get an education because she believed it as an important asset everyone should have.

All of this is really random information but I don’t think I tell or show my mom I appreciate anything she’s ever done for me.

It was hard growing up and trying to have her understand some things when I would talk to her because her english isn’t the greatest. I mean, she can speak fluently but sometimes she could use the wrong word in the wrong way making a statement come across mean when she didn’t mean it to. It’s definitely a barrier that was hard for her and me. I used to find it embarrassing that my mother didn’t get it but I grew up from that and I knew it didn’t matter. I have a greater understanding on who my mom is and I am happy that I do but I am sad I took it all for granted. Of course, I was a teenager that would always talk back and contradict at times but looking back I feel bad for treating her the way I did sometimes. But that’s the price of growing up and coming to a realization of who you were in the past and accepting who you were so you can grow into who you are meant to be.

I love her more than she knows.

014 (24)

My mother and I when I was about 16 or 17 years old.

My mom and I at Glacier National Park. I was 18 years old.

My mom and I at Glacier National Park. I was 18 years old.

At the Atlanta Airport my mom was too tired to care that she was wearing her backpack backwards. haha

I took this last year at the Atlanta Airport. My mom was too tired to care that she was wearing her backpack backwards. haha

The most recent photo I have of my mother. She is holding her second grandchild Isabelle Rose. So precious.

The most recent photo I have of my mother. She is holding her second grandchild Isabelle Rose. So precious.

Leave a Reply

